My Children

Just reading the few words my daughter decided to post opened my eyes to the challenges my oldest two have had to face with their father being completely deaf (and implanted but does not use processor consistently), and a mother who was profoundly deaf. Admittedly I do better than their father does with communication and with the hearing aids. However it is obvious there are gaps with my hearing, ability to follow them over the years, and other issues that crop up. I knew there were things that my children were feeling, particularly my daughter, who in her home with their father, has become the hearing person and the intermediary between her brother and Daddy.  Reading her little post, clearly illustrated there were some issues that I and her father were unaware of. I hope, that the implant will help, and as her wish, her little brother will have a mother who hears better than she did when his siblings were growing up.

Please leave a comment or reply.

