Three Weeks Post Surgery

It has been three weeks, and I can finally shower, and wash my hair like normal (the left side anyway), sleep on the right side (took a few days to get used to it again,) and it felt very strange since there is no feeling around my ear. It feels like I have about 2 inches around it in a half circle that feels as if I have a metal plate in my head. Very weird. One more week, on the 22nd I will be getting my processor and will get activated 🙂  I am so excited! I cannot wait to hear on that side again even if everyone sounds like Mickey or Minnie Mouse or Bender the Robot 🙂 The dizziness has lessened although it still hits me from time to time. So far I can seem to bend over Wyatt to kiss his belly or lay back and not get dizzy. So I seem to be luckier than the ex for that 🙂 The incision is healing really well, and I am feeling self conscious about it since its really close to the ear and what is in the hair seems to be getting covered by the regrowth. I’ve been tempted to try sticking fridge magnets on my head.. to find the spot where the external apparatus will magnetize to.. may let the kids try that 🙂 I am still working on accepting the loss of the residual hearing I had.. it has not been easy to come to terms with it. I keep reminding myself that the end result is going to be worth it. Thankful for the support I have had from my friends and family. I hope you all continue to read this in the next few weeks 🙂

Please leave a comment or reply.

