Long overdue post…..

Friends and family, I apologize for  not keeping up with the blog since last July. I  have had many ups and downs in my life, both related and unrelated to the implant.  I have had minor successes and changes with the implant, and also a lot of negative results, and feelings. Enough so that I did not want to write, and also regret over my decision. It has been a difficult period in my life.

Since the activation I have had several programming adjustments, the latest one in December, which I am still thinking needs more tweaking.

Differences I have noticed :

  • definitely hearing more high frequency sounds. consistently recognizing them and picking them up is another matter entirely
  • picking up sounds and conversations up to 35 feet away,  although recognizing the words or sounds is still far off
  • speech comprehension on the phone :  i have had some minor occasional successes on the phone, but still have a ways to go before i reach previous level of confidence and comfort with phone use.
  • i still struggle with conversations,  but the good is outweighing the bad more often than not i think

Biggest frustration is that people still think it was an automatic fix, when it is not. I have a lot of work ahead of me and years before I will reach the full potential of  the implant.

Please leave a comment or reply.

