I Do Not Like the Sound

I do not like the sound
Of the toilet flushing
I do not like the sound
Of paper crinkling

I do like the sound
Of my children’s laughter
I do like the sound
Of music playing

I do not like the sound
Of the windshield wipers
I do not like the sound
Of power tools buzzing

I do like the sound
Of my husband’s voice
I do like the sound
Of his motorcycle revving

I do like the sounds
Of life all around me
I do
I do
I do like the sounds I hear

I do not like the sound
Of silence
I do not like sounds
That go boom, crash, bang

I do like the sound
Of the fire crackling
I do like sounds
That go sizzle, swish, tinkle

I do like the sounds
Of life all around me
I do
I do
I do like the sounds I hear

I hear
I hear
I listen
I listen
I do like the sounds I hear
I listen to the sounds I hear

Sounds are good
You know
Even when they are not pleasant
For without those sounds
Life would surely be unpleasant

I do like the sounds
Of life all around me
I do
I do
I do like the sounds I hear

Copyright December 2013 Kimberly Brown

Please leave a comment or reply.

