Ear Infections

Yikes. I thought I was done having these infections. Nope… I have swelling in both ear canals. How I do not know… I caught it early enough that the antibiotics are working quickly, and I hope that will be the end of it. However it brought firth the reality that I can never treat it lightly, and must go for treatment as soon as possible. With having a cochlear implant now, it means that if left untreated, it can lead to meningitis, despite having the vaccine. Definitely not worth the risk in my opinion.

I remember having so many infections as a kid. They were painful, the medicines were awful, but the worst part, was the inability to hear because I could not wear the hearing aids until the infections were gone. I cannot tell you how many times I had them back to back, or in both ears. School was a misery during those occasions as trying to follow my teacher, or my classmates was difficult, as lip reading wasn’t enough despite how strong I was.

I had tubes three times, apparently by the time I was seven. I only recall the one surgery and being in the hospital. I recall being wheeled away from mom to the operating room, the crib I was in, the doctors with their masks, the prick of the needle on my hand and being told to count to ten. I was out so quickly that the next memory was of waking in my room with mom beside me. I am not sure I even understood why I was there or what happened at the time. I have pictures of the flowers sent to me by a friend of my mother’s.

As a parent I don’t take these lightly when my children get them. I am mindful of the older two’s father’s history with ear infections and his resulting loss of hearing. My oldest had tubes and her adenoids removed, my middle son also did, at age one, and a second set of tubes. He still gets ear infections, while she does not. My youngest, so far, no tubes, but two ear infections after he turned one. He has been fine since thankfully. It’s scary putting your child under general anesthesia for any surgery, but for us, our biggest worry was whether they would be in that 1% with complications as a result. Thankfully both are fine.

So as I give myself the drops, swallow the large pills, I am mindful that I not only need to follow treatment correctly, but alert my surgeon, and watch for any complications near the implant site. It isn’t that simple anymore.

Please leave a comment or reply.

